1. Blag

Blag New Member

What are my limits when it comes to creative composition?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Blag, Aug 31, 2015.

Can an author play around with existing rules for grammar and sentence formations, probably break a few/several rules to facilitate creative expression?

I once had an idea to write a complete story/novel in first person, everybody refers to each other in first person, everybody (perhaps every thing? no that would be too hard) describes itself if need to. There is no he, or she, or that man or woman, everybody is referred to in first person. There is only one person who is referred to in 3rd person and one could develop on that. Is this impossible to achieve/approve of?

Or if thats too extreme, perhaps write a complete story without names/professions/straightforward 3rd person references? I'm not good with technical terminology of english so i'm unable to express my ideas/question too well.

2. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Yes, of course you can do that. you can find all sorts of experimental approaches. There's no rule that you have to follow for your creative output, except perhaps that whatever you do you have to do effectively. In other words, make it work.

Fernando.C likes this.
  3. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

I can't imagine how one could possibly pull this off without it being mind-bogglingly confusing.

Tenderiser likes this.
  4. Blag

Blag New Member

Thats why you shouldn't do it/try to imagine even harder. Nothing's impossible :) , and judging by your reply, i guess nobody has tried it before?

5. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I had the same thought as @OurJud. I'm sure it's possible and it would be a good exercise that you might learn from but I'm not sure how good a story it will result in. I hope you post the results if you go through with it because whatever happens I'm sure it will be very interesting!

6. Blag

Blag New Member