1. Lilith Addington

Lilith Addington Member

What are some Essential Elements for Horror Stories?

Discussion in 'Horror' started by Lilith Addington, May 16, 2016.

On a whim, I recently started writing some short horror stories. Since this is a genre I have never written in before, I'm wondering what some of the essential elements are. What do I need to convey to the reader? What do I need to do to make them scared? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :) Thanks!

2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

The obstacle has to be stronger than the protagonist(s).

Action is when you want the protagonist to fight the opposition because you want the protagonist to win, horror is when you don't want the protagonist to fight because you don't want the protagonist to lose.

3. Ex Leper

Ex Leper Banned

I've been reading a lot of H. P. Lovecraft recently. His style of horror is based on fear of the unknown and fear of how inconsequential we actually are. His horror is the folly of the human ego. We are not the only thing in the universe; we are not even the strongest. We are like ants to what shakes and moves the universe. And the few humans who do see the truth, well... the fragile human mind struggles to grasp that and descends into madness and oblivion. We are nothing. Deal with it.

4. tumblingdice

tumblingdice Member

What a coincidence, I've recently started to write horror too :). I've never read Stephen King or anything like that, so this is all new to me. Something I found online that I feel is working for me is to keep the fear element human. Think about very real things we all fear in everyday lives (as adults, of course), our worst nightmares coming true, and write about them. This will make your story relatable.

Raven484 and Lilith Addington like this.
  5. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor