Tags:
  1. Norm

Norm New Member

Is there a better way to write this?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Norm, Jun 6, 2011.

I am concerned about two things:

1. This is my first time using the word 'however' to join two sentences. Does it flow well? It seems kind of awkward to me, but I can't think of a better way to write it.

2. I used a lot of pronouns in this paragraph... is it coherent? Meaning, can you tell who is doing what?

1 person likes this.
  2. GraceCousins

GraceCousins New Member

I can definitely tell who is doing what. As for the word "however" (and I'm very guilty of over-using it), to me it can sound too formal and essay-like, especially in a fast-paced action scene. I would suggest maybe using "yet" or "but". Simple, but maybe if you're worried about it, more effective. Just my opinion, though.

Edit: the more I read it over and over, the more I think using "however" might be ok. I think it's the semi-colon that's throwing me off. Perhaps you could try just "...into the tile floor, however, the pain..." or even "...into the tile floor, but the pain..."

3. Norm

Norm New Member

I agree that 'however' may not be the best choice. Of the three above, which one flows the best?

4. GraceCousins

GraceCousins New Member

Number 3 is easier to read because the sentences are not quite so long. There's room to "breathe". And yet, number 2 flows better, it doesn't lose any intensity in the action the way number 3 does (the full stop kind of pauses the action before the reader learns the result of the crash into the floor). It's all up to you, though, of course.

5. Norm

Norm New Member

I'll go with number two most likely unless anyone has something superior to offer.

6. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributor Contributor

Number two reads the best, I think.

WOOOOAH. LOONG sentence is LONG. Complex sentence is complex!

Try reading that, then try reading the following: