1. Lasherman

Lasherman New Member

Help regarding military rankings

Discussion in 'Research' started by Lasherman, Aug 3, 2010.

This is my first time posting anything here, so hello everybody! Anyway, I recently came up with an idea for a screenplay, and I don't want to divulge too much about it, but it is a sci-fi series that involves a large military space station. I've never really written much before, so this is mostly just for fun, but I'm trying to make it as realistic as possible.

My problem is that I don't have a very in-depth knowledge of military ranking, so I have a few questions about the titles of some of my characters.

First, I have the actual leader of the station. He commands the 2200 assorted military personnel aboard. I figured he would either be "Commander", or "Captain", but I'm not sure which.

Second is a character who acts as a secondary pilot of the station. However, the character is new and inexperienced so I don't know what I would call him.

And, finally, a character who leads the actual infantry aboard the vessel. She is only in charge of the crew who go out on combat missions, seeing as there are also many non-combatants aboard the ship. If I had to guess, I'd call her a Sergeant, but I have no clue if that's right or not.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Your Sergeant needs a higher rank. She should be an officer if the duties you mention are in her job description.

Also, Captain and Commander are bother words that have the unusual duplicity of being both rank designations and also designation of position on board a ship or other vessel.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

You should also decide what branch of the military to base your rank structure upon, and even what country's military rank hierarchy.

Google will help.

4. Laser Sailor

Laser Sailor New Member