1. Ryan Elder

Ryan Elder Banned

Does my story idea work logically?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Ryan Elder, Apr 15, 2015.

Well I am not finished it and need to get the treatment down first, but it's only my second script, and I am new to writing. But I want harsh critic, if the idea will not work, since I plan on producing and directing it myself if I go forth with it.

My script is about a serial rapist who is not being caught for his crimes, because he is good at covering them up. One of the victims has had enough and she forms an angry lynch mob to go after him. Kind of like M (1931), which I was inspired by.

During the course though, the mob discovers a piece of evidence, the 'macguffin', that they need to get their hands on to prove the rapist's guilt to the police. However, they cannot just steal the macguffin and turn it in, because the evidence would legally be deemed 'fruit of the poisonous tree', since they cannot acquire it through legal channels.

So the mob comes up with this plan. They will arrange to trick the rapist into meeting them and to bring the macguffin (the rapist think it's something else, and not mob that has come for him), and then they will call the police. The police will come and catch the mob, with the rapist, but also find the macguffin AT THE SCENE, which will then make it legally usable in court.

However, is this a good or workable idea for a story, or is it a unnatural or illogical? Of course there is a lot more to the story than just that, but I need to know if the premise and the ending works, so I can build the rest of the story within it?