1. waitingforzion

waitingforzion Banned

Repitition

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by waitingforzion, Jul 1, 2016.

Some in this forum have marked for deletion any and all passages that contain the same words or phrases repeated in close proximity. To those people I would like to say, though unlike them I am no expert editor, that not all repetitions are bad, for some are a valid application of rhetoric, and we know that rhetoric is the art of eloquence. For in the speech of Martin Luther King, we find repeated the phrase, "I have a dream". Let us therefore not mark for deletion every instance of repetition, for even a great number of style guides, in all their scorn for abundance, do not tell us to shun such things, but rather encourage them.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

You know what? I more-or-less agree with this, and I think it was reasonably well written.

Good job.

Sifunkle likes this.
  3. Cnayur

Cnayur Member

I agree that repetition need not be stamped out mercilessly wherever it rears its (ugly?) head. In poetry especially (but in prose too, of course), repetition can be used to very powerful effect. As a word of warning though, I believe that there is definitely a difference between conscious repetition, wielded skilfully by the writer, and accidental repetition that is just a waste of words.

God, I sound pretentious! :D

SethLoki and Steerpike like this.
  4. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Yes. And this is true with much advice that is presented as a rule (such as showing instead of telling, not using passive voice, and so on). The advice is really intended to cause writers (particularly beginners) to reflect on their work and to avoid unintentional usages that make their story less effective.

5. Cnayur

Cnayur Member