1. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor

Bad stories?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Lemex, Apr 18, 2009.

Have you ever read over a story you wrote, let's say a few month ago, and at the time you thought it was pretty good, but now when you look back on it you just don't want to look at it?

I've having that now, I've been going through a really big rewrite stage lately, rewriting all of my old stories I thought could do with it, and I had one where I thought the story was great. Now, when I read it again, I just think. "What? What is this rubbish?"

Also, what do you do with them?

2. Unsavory

Unsavory Active Member

I'm fairly new at creative writing, so it isn't a huge issue for me yet, but about four years ago I wrote a couple of screenplays based on a comic I drew in high school. At the time I thought it was fresh, funny, and told a great story. I looked back on it several months ago and couldn't believe I'd ever had the nerve to show another soul.

My reaction was not a good one. I edited three or four words and then closed the file with no desire to open it up again. Right now, I'm much more content working on my novel... which happens to be loosely based on the same thing.

3. Castlesofsand

Castlesofsand Banned

there are no bad stories. they are just steps on your way forward. you learnt from each one. and everyone had its own lesson.

i don't keep mine, wrote now for about 7 years, a story every day. a long walk, but i tend to not look back, can't see where i want to go doing that. what's in your past even in writing made you write as you are now, so how can they be bad.

4. -NM-

-NM- Active Member

You obviously haven't read The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant then..

5. Castlesofsand

Castlesofsand Banned

wouldn't matter. i'm sure something was learnt by it is my point, doesn't matter if its just where to not place a comma.

though, like you, sometimes i wonder.

6. Gone Wishing

Gone Wishing New Member