1. TheClassified

TheClassified New Member

How to simplify science?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by TheClassified, Feb 22, 2015.

Hey, I have never written before and I have that idea... Well you know how one starts.

But a question now arises, how detailed should the science in science fiction be? Science today has a huge problem. There is that part of science for all the people, and then there is the part for the researchers. The gap between understandable and accurate gets bigger and bigger. Well I love science, read a lot about it (real science, not the novels) and am quite often confronted with it. So it drives me nuts when I read something written by yellow journalism. On the other hand, I can understand that you need to simplify concepts and ideas to bring them to the mass. (pun intended...)

I read a thread about the magic of science fiction. You should not explain a concept in detail, because at the end of the day it's a novel and no thesis. But when I'm talking about quantum fields for example, how detailed should I write that the researcher knows what I mean (and I'm still correct), but the high school math-hater understands it's importance in the novel. How can I simplify scientific concepts? I could change their names and go from a "Higgs field" to a field of mass. But would the science geek still enjoy my novel as much as the weekend reader? On the other hand, would the weekend reader enjoy my novel if I would keep the name "Higgs field"? Can I keep scientific names in it, so that the weekend reader thinks I created the name "Higgs field", just like "the force" (in another well known novel), but the scientist knows that it's accurate?

Where do I draw the line between accurate science and understandable science in a novel? Are there guidelines to do such a thing?

And an off-topic question... Can I somewhere post parts of my writing so that someone has a look at it? If so, where?

Thank you...

Last edited: Feb 22, 2015