Tags:
  1. GuardianWynn

GuardianWynn Contributor Contributor

What is the correct... grammar tool.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by GuardianWynn, Nov 4, 2015.

I got a line. It feels like it needs a... what is the formal term for stuff like commas, and such? In either case it feels like it needs one I have never used before. The sentence is this.

The best option try and work with them.

In case more context is needed. Here is the whole paragraph.

The distraction of losing her link to Daniel couldn't have come at a worse time. Enemy soldiers were coming from the fourth path. They were too close to avoid a visual. The best option try and work with them. Annie after all was still in disguise. They slowed down when they saw her.

My guess is a colon but I am bad at this stuff and realize I don't even know what a colon is for.

Thanks.

@ChickenFreak
    @jannert
    @Tenderiser

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I would say "The best option was to try and work with them." but if you want to use a punctuation mark I would say "The best option: try and work with them."

I think of a colon like a fanfare saying "LISTEN UP! Something important is coming!" and use them when I want to pack a punch with the words that come after them. I'm such ChickenFreak will have a much more technical explanation than that. :D

Catrin Lewis and GuardianWynn like this.
  3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Hmm. My first comment is that "try and" is regarded as a colloquialism--the more standard way of putting this would be "try to". But that doesn't mean you shouldn't use it, it's just something to be aware of--I wouldn't, for example, use it in a resume or a query letter in case you run into someone who actually regards it as incorrect. Googling it, I also find that Americans are more likely than the British to object to it.

Leaving that aside, possible rephrasings of this could be:

The best option would be to try and work with them.