Tags:
  1. nitwof25

nitwof25 New Member

Novel What's in a Chapter?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by nitwof25, Nov 28, 2012.

Hello to all aspiring authors and writing enthusiasts,

I am very new to the possibility or probabilty that any of my ideas may ever one day be published, however, that is not going to keep me from trying. I have a few questions before I dive into assembling my ideas onto paper and pounding my thoughts into readable material. As said earlier, I am new, and the biggest road block I have come across so far is the compilation of chapters. what goes in a chapter? How is the general layout prepared? This for me seems to be the hardest part.

As with any advise and comments, all are welcome and appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. captain kate

captain kate Senior Member

I've heard people call chapters short stories within the larger story. Personally, I look at them as a scene in a movie. There's a start, then the action, and then either a conclusion of a cliffhanger. It's all up to author's preferences.

Sometimes a scene is so large that it needs to be split into two chapters, which is when you'll have to decide, or create, a place where the action can logically be cut off the end one chapter and start another. This can control your pacing or give a reader a breather.

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

It seems pretty arbitrary to me. I've seen novels with highly-organized chapters, each devoted to a single, well-defined scene. I've also seen novels with chapters that are sometimes only a sentence or two long, as if the writer decided those sentences were so important they deserved their own chapter - this kind of thing reminds of a rock concert in which the bassist gets a little eight-bar solo every once in a while.