Tags:
  1. Hubardo

Hubardo Contributor Contributor

What is your culture?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Hubardo, Jun 29, 2015.

From the internet:

A culture is a way of life of a group of people--the behaviors, beliefs, values, and symbols that they accept, generally without thinking about them, and that are passed along by communication and imitation from one generation to the next.
    In college I majored in Cultural Anthropology and for much of that time I thought of others as having a culture, not me. People in tribes in rainforests were cultural. Native Americans, a thousand years ago, had cultures. Parisians who drank wine and ate cheese and looked at art had some kind of culture. But not me, I was just... me. An individual. A normal guy.

Then I traveled a bit and realized that others had certain perceptions of me as an Other. In non-Californian states, I was the Californian. This meant that I was more likely to be gay, liberal, not like guns, not eat meat, and so on. In Europe, I was an American. In China, I became white and Western. I was even hairy there! People stared at my arm hair and apparently on the train, people used some kind of term meaning "beast"!

This process of realizing that in somebody's eyes, you're an outsider, can be really eye opening. If you haven't had this experience, you might think that your religion, your atheism, your language, your traditions, your politics, the way you communicate, what body language you use, the food you eat -- ETC -- are "normal."

One interesting thing about all of us right here, right now, is that we're using the internet. Not everyone on Earth uses the internet. Most of us who will post here spend a lot of time online. We sit in front of a piece of plastic and metal, we click buttons with our fingers, and we send packets of data into satellites that that get delivered to other machines. This is part of a culture we are a part of. It's hard to see it when you're so up close.