1. tomwritstuff

tomwritstuff New Member

Prequel and Sequel ideas-Why can't I stop?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by tomwritstuff, Sep 15, 2012.

Its been a while since my last post so be gentle please?

Having slightly more time to polish my manuscript and being rejected by a couple of publishing companies, I've decided that Self-Publishing is for me! When I can afford the best company and package anyway!

My Story is about a chosen Dhampir and it is informative about his and the existence of Vampires. Before anyone says 'Not another,' I have been writing the story for many years but have had to put it down and then pick it up again. Personal circumstances have scuppered my completion throughout the last decade.

It's not another Twilight love story either, I only have a small bit here and there on forbidden love. I would say, I've taken an idea of a Vampire from here and there also, thrown it into a hat to jumble it all up and then brought it into line to explain my tale. I'm trying to keep the idea of a vampire the same as its been throughout years and not turn it into a mockery!

How many people have taken the idea of Bram Stoker's Dracula or the role of the Van Helsings and written themselves a new tale for both the bookshelf or the Big Screen?

My research has come from the Internet, films and only a small amount from written literature. Some may even say its blasphemous but I've tried not to offend too much. Its not aimed towards that market of reader anyway! In my opinion, Vampire novels aren't exactly aimed at church goers anyway!

Although Christened as a baby, I'm not religious, yet I've found myself looking through the bible and other religious media to help with my research.

While I'm trawling the web and Writers Guide books to find the best and save up my money towards Self-Publishing, my ideas of expansion keep taking over. However, I don't want to be bombarding the reader with too much, too soon in the almost finished manuscript!