1. Nightshade

Nightshade New Member

What makes you pick a book up?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Nightshade, Apr 17, 2011.

So I saw there was a thread about what makes you put a book down and I have to say, I heartily agree with just about everything everyone said about the turn-offs with books. I struggled through The Remains of the Day because it was part of a college course and let me tell you, when I was finished all that remained of 'Remains' was a pile of smouldering ash in the fireplace (I've never done this to a book before or since). I couldn't relate to the characters or find any real purpose to the story at the time, nor see what on earth the writer was trying to express.

But I'm getting sidetracked.

What is it about a book which makes you keep going? I'm interested because I'm rewriting my book and it's a Young Adult which means you really need to dive into the story quickly and use shorter 'punchier' sentences and events to keep their attention, or so I've been told. So what have you read which pulled you in from the first sentence/paragraph/page and why? What made it so memorable? Why do you re-read it (if you've read it more than once) and still find it enjoyable? What, if you will, 'hooks' you more than anything else when you open a book?

I'd be very interested to know what you all think.

2. Show

Show Contributor Contributor

I need to know what it's about and the story has to grab me then and there.

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

If the cover or title grabs my interest, and the blurb seems to confirm it, I'll generally read the first page or two to gauge whether the writing is worth a damn. If I decide it looks hopeful, I'll probably read it.

I don't mind whether it starts in the thick of the action or not. The important things to me are whether I like the premise, and whether I think the writer is good enough to handle it well.

4. Youniquee