1. shambles

shambles Member

I have questions about creating a Native American/white mix male character

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by shambles, Sep 2, 2016.

I want to create a Native American and white mixed male protagonist. For the most part, my reasoning behind this is that I am Native and white mix so I have a lot of experiences that I want to contribute to my character. Another reason is that I don't see all that many fictional books with Native or especially Native and white protagonists. I feel like they are very underrepresented in literature.

I do, however, have some reservations about this, they are as follows:
    1) If I want to reference a specific tribe or reservation, should I discuss it with the chief or tribal council or another official? I don't want to instigate any assumptions about certain tribes, regions, etc.
    and
    2) Does anybody here have any personal advice, experience, or input on this matter.

If it helps, I want the focus of my novel to be mostly on the poverty in Native communities and I want my main character to address it personally and to be fighting to escape and overcome poverty.

Thank you all for any input!

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Are you a significant portion Native? Like, not 1/32 Cherokee or whatever, but a good part of your heritage is Native?

If so, I really think you're in a better position to answer these questions than anyone else here is likely to be. Maybe you could tell us the best way to approach a situation like this.

If not... it might be best to approach this as if you were a white author, rather than relying on a genetic detail that isn't a significant part of your identity.

3. shambles

shambles Member