1. R-Lick

R-Lick New Member

Does anyone here have an MFA in Creative Writing?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by R-Lick, Jun 10, 2014.

How do you feel about this degree? Was it worth it, or would you advise others not to follow your path? What are the pros and cons to an MFA?

I'm just genuinely curious about this because I've read both good and bad things about this. It'd be nice to hear anyone's opinion on this matter.

2. HealSomeBabies

HealSomeBabies Member

I do not have an MFA in creative writing. I've always thought creative skills are self-taught. I think the gist of school is you pay a professor to give you assignments and he critiques everything relentlessly, which is not a bad thing if you want to really improve. It will also put you among like-minded people. On the bad side, you'll have spent $$$$$ on college(really depends though), and years of your life learning something that isn't applicable to a lucrative career. However, if that's your passion, you really don't need anyone's advise.

3. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

What I've always heard is that if you want to teach writing, you need one. If you don't want to teach, you don't. Now, you will likely actually *learn* things and you will certainly improve your craft, if for no other reason than the intense focus and increased ability to practice writing and reading. Having an MFA might make an agent read to the end of your intro letter, instead of only halfway.

It really depends on why you want the degree and on your financial situation (and the opportunity costs involved).

4. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

The only published writers I know of who have MFAs are Rachel Simon, who taught creative writing for a time, and Elizabeth Kostova.

5. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I don't have one, but I do know enough about it to offer my thoughts.

Pros: