1. LaForge

LaForge New Member

What the f*** am I writing?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by LaForge, Jun 29, 2016.

On the MBTI, I'm a high level J type with functioning clinical OCD. Needless to say, as a writer, I'm a planner. I have 90% of the book written in my head before fingers meet keyboard. This method without a doubt is not the most productive or the best for my mental health considering my obsessive nature usually prevents me from starting a book until it's "ready" and the thrill of writing is usually gone by the time I allow myself to write. This time, fully medicated, I had an idea, picked up my laptop, and fingers met keyboard. No plan at all, no clue what I've written, but now I have several pages of something I can't identify but I actually sort of like.

That being said, I'm getting some anxieties over plot because, well, there isn't one. Do I break out the Venn diagrams and the flowcharts like in grade school English class? Or do I keep writing and let the plot develop naturally?

Thoughts?

jannert likes this.
  2. Nidhogg

Nidhogg Member

I'd say just write and see what happens. Even if there is no plot that develops, what you end up writing can be used to help flesh out a plot later on during a second draft/rework of the initial idea.

3. BC Barry

BC Barry Member

I am by no means an expert.....actually, I don't know anything. But my thought is, if you've never done it before and it's flowing for you, why not try it? That's one of the beauties of writing, it's so easy to fix mistakes, especially on a computer. What's the worse that can happen? You hate it and have to start over. Or you just need to build a plan around what you have because you love it and will need to re-word it some.

I've learned the hard way it's much easier to live with a failure than a regret. So go for it!

Simpson17866 likes this.
  4. SadStories

SadStories Active Member