1. aguywhotypes

aguywhotypes Active Member

what type of fiction is this?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by aguywhotypes, Apr 22, 2014.

I just got done watching this:

what type of genre would you call this? Slice of Life?

I'm just a rank beginner at this writing thing but I know this is the type of story I want to write. I just love this!

I've been reading lots of books on novels and fiction and thinking of the long story when I really think I want to write short stories. I get easily overwhelmed and a full size novel seems insurmountable to me, but a short story like this seems possible.

can someone point me in the direction of what I need to know and learn to write this type of story?

From my own observations, setting and characters I think would be extremely important. I also think that a small town setting is a must. Why? People who live in a small town tend to kind of know each other and talk to each other at the places of business. I lived in a small town called Westcliffe, CO and yes it's real, just a dot on Google maps right next to Silver Cliffe and I remember that when we went through the checkout at the grocery store our cashier wouldn't give us our receipt until my wife and I gave her a hug! (My wife had worked with her previously)... small town life just doesn't get any better!

What is the conflict? the problem of how are going to save the fishing cabin, correct? or that was at least the protagonists goals, yes?

I get so tired of people getting killed, shock factor in books , etc etc I love the innocence behind it all, that is what I want to write.

If anyone could help me to move on and point me in to the next step that would be most helpful

Thank you