1. adamjones703

adamjones703 New Member

Novel Starting my first novel...

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by adamjones703, Nov 20, 2015.

Hey all, I'm new here - I'm hoping to start my first novel soon, it's been something I've been interested in for a while and I figure I'm just gonna go for it. I've been thinking about what I wanna do, and have an idea of the plot, setting, characters (kind of) - now its just piecing it all together - and thats where I'm struggling, I'm not really sure where to start as I've never done this before - I have a few hours in an airport tomorrow so I hope to piece some of it together then. Any advice?

Thanks

2. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

Write your idea down in a couple of sentences. What's the story? Who is the main character? What is (s)he trying to accomplish? What's stopping him/her? Is Dorothy trying to get to Oz so she can go home to Kansas? Is Indiana Jones trying to find the lost Arc before the Nazis? Once you have that, look at the protagonist a little more closely. What's (s)he like? What drives him/her? Then turn to the antagonist. Is it a person or group of people? Is it a force of some kind? Is it the setting itself? What's his/her/it's motivation in trying to thwart the protagonist? What's the nature of their conflict? You don't have to be detailed, just a loose idea so that you can see where you are going.

Once you've done that - writing it down, probably no more than a page - you can either do a more detailed outline to give yourself a sense of the flow of the story, or you can just "write where the story takes you" (what is sometimes called "a pantser"). Do whichever feels best for you.

Best of luck!

3. Commandante Lemming

Commandante Lemming Contributor Contributor