1. AnDay

AnDay New Member

Help - How should I review?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by AnDay, Apr 29, 2009.

I've been on the site for a few days now. Getting to know a couple of you and reviewing some of the work on the site. I just ran into my first problem and didn't know where to go. Being new to the site I figured I would come here. I found a poem and noticed the thread was closed due to the fact that the author had not given at least two opinions of the works of others. I can understand this seeing how we need everyone to participate. I am very new to writing and I feel that I am no where near the level of giving my own opinions on the works of others. At the same time I would love your opinions on my own work as well so in the future I could givemy own opinions. What should I do?

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

if you're writing, then i assume you're also reading... so, even if you can't offer any advice on the quality of the work being reviewed, you can at least say how it affects you as a reader, right?... so, go ahead and write the required number of posts, so you can then post your own work...

welcome!

love and hugs, maia

3. Maroon

Maroon Active Member

mammamia is quite right.

There's no one 'correct' way to write a review, and different reviewers bring different strengths to the table.

You don't necessarily need to unpick all the grammatical technicalities of someone's work. Instead, look for stuff that really works - a great, clear description perhaps - and point it out. Critiques needn't be all about the bad.

Keep your eyes peeled for anything you find confusing. Is there a point in the piece where you're not sure what's going on? Point that out! Are any of the sentences difficult to read? Does the dialogue sound realistic? Are the character's actions credible to you, within the context of the story? Perhaps most importantly: does it hold your attention?