1. blueshogun96

blueshogun96 Member

How long is "too long"?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by blueshogun96, Jan 13, 2017.

I am asking this because i have read a few posts as well as a few other's articles recommending that your book not to be too great in length. I was originally writing a short story, but it evolved into a novella at this point, and is soon going to be getting close to that of a novel. The story is currently on its 50th page and is a little over 33k words, and yet... I feel like I am just getting started writing this as my mind is constantly flooded with new concepts, insights after doing a bit of research, and ways to give the story a bit more immersion as well as detail.

Is it really that much harder to get a novella or novel published? Even as a self publisher? I'm still very new to publishing and if necessary I'll stick with Amazon or iBooks or something along those lines. So far I've read one suggestion such as writing your book in parts. Right now, I already have content that I would likely add to a sequel of this story. Am I getting a bit ahead of myself? Or should I just wait until the story is completed beyond the rough draft?

Lastly, I understand that a story has to be captivating in order for a longer story to be successful. I mean really, look at Lord of the Ring, the most popular book in the US aside from the Bible. Big shoes to fill, but someone has to at least try, right? Somebody out there has to write the next great novel that eventually becomes a movie... am I correct?

Overall, I'm not worried about becoming the next famous writer that everyone at Starbucks is blogging about, nor am I too worried about generating $10k or more within the first month either, but I do want people to read it and share their reviews on it, positive or negative.