1. Finley Markus

Finley Markus New Member

Short Story Lighthearted or Gloomy?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Finley Markus, Nov 16, 2006.

My short stories tend to be dark and gloomy, emotional above everything else. Like my story "Fall"--- it's about a boy who's on the edge of the roof of his high school, contemplating jumping, and a girl who arrives in a sort of daze, telling him to appreciate what he has, and then she jumps--- again, very twisted and very emotional.

I've been told I'm a good writer, but that my work needs to be a lot less dark. What do you think? Would you rather read happy, lubby-dubby stories or dark, emotional, makes-you-think stories?

2. zerobytes

zerobytes New Member

Um...my answer would be yes. Both have their place and both have a market. I think it really depends on the target audience you are writing for. The only thing I would warn against (though it doesn't sound like you're doing this) is writing up emotional vent sessions and then trying to impress others with them. This is more common in poetry but I've read several short stories that feel the same way. Emoting on paper can be very theraputic so there's nothing wrong with it but, like modern dance, I think it accomplishes more for the artist than the audience. Having said all that. I actually think your story idea is intriguing. I wouldn't mind reading it. Gloomy fiction definitely has it's place (enter Edgar Allen Poe)...at least on my bookshelf.

3. ariella

ariella New Member

in a home full of wonderful and loving people I ca
    All I can say is that the idea you have sounds really interesting and I really enjoy anything that has you on the edge of your seat and thinking the whole way through it. Personally I prefer fantasy, I never have like all that mushy love stuff in books, so not my thing.

4. Brazen

Brazen New Member

My 2 cents: