1. iamnotaweed

iamnotaweed New Member

Where do you write?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by iamnotaweed, Nov 27, 2011.

I understand it is not productive to write in bed, but I find myself trying to do it quite frequently.
    I also understand it's not productive to write with the TV running, but here I am, still trying.

I'm still a student, so sitting at a desk any time outside of class is like torture. However, I'm beginning to feel the magic of the desk might be productivity...

Do any of you successfully stay awake while writing in bed?
    Are any of you masters of focus that can ignore a blaring TV?

Or do you find your muse somewhere else?

2. Cacian

Cacian Banned

I am out to bed to write, never in it.
    I write at my desk and I write usually in my head before I start coming with words.:D

3. FoxPaw

FoxPaw Senior Member

I have a desk, but for some reason, I find myself unproductive there. I'm usually writing on my bed (not in it =P), sitting cross-legged and hunched over my screen and cringe-worthy angles. I get back-pains now because I do it so often. (I need to work on that...) I even have a chair at my desk that never gets any use.

4. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Staff Supporter Contributor

My desk, unfortunately, is almost in the living room, where my roommate has the TV on nearly all the time. It's a bad place to write. So I write, usually, in my bedroom, which is so small that I sit on the edge of the bed with my laptop on a table I have set up for the purpose.

We need to move to a bigger house, but financial issues make that impossible right now.

5. DeviouSquirrel

DeviouSquirrel Member

I sit in a chair somewhere with my laptop on my knee and with the TV or at least music on. I need some sort of noise and stuff or I just can't focus.