1. dave_c

dave_c Active Member

Publisher know best

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by dave_c, Mar 24, 2011.

Is it really worth self publishing. I've never tried to get a book published before and was just wondering, if people go on to self publish after being knocked back by publishers, do they ever make any real profit? I would have thought the reason publishers knock you back is because they know what will and wont sell and presumably the work brought to them fits in to the latter.

just curious more than anything.

2. w176

w176 Contributor Contributor

People can have really good reasons to self publish, but making money is seldom one of them.

If you writing a book for a small hobby for example, like an book on ice fishing, it might be work self publishing. A publisher might not be interested at all of publishing a book with a tiny target audience, but you might be able to sell it trough fishing magazines and online fishing sites. It probably not make you rich, but if you writing for the love of you hobby and not for the money right?

Another group that can self publish successfully is really successful bloggers, and they might make a shipload of money.

3. Sidewinder

Sidewinder Contributor Contributor