1. MacBookProse

MacBookProse New Member

Where to start when researching a True Crime book?

Discussion in 'Research' started by MacBookProse, Apr 2, 2011.

I'm starting to do research for a true crime book and wanted to know if anyone here had any pointers. This is my first try with anything like this and I want to try to eliminate as much trial and error as possible. The project was originally going to focus on an unsolved murdered that happened in my town over 30 years ago. However, it's grown a bit from there to be about a 5-month crime surge that includes the unsolved murder.

For starters, I've started collecting as many newspaper articles I can find about the subjects by scouring the internet and calling the state library to request photocopies of over 40 articles. I'm compiling the articles chronologically so I can have a rough timeline. This process has just started and so far it's been fairly smooth.

The problem I'm facing is that the crime spree I am writing about occurred a couple of decades before I moved to the town (not to mention, nearly a full decade before I was even born). I really want to make sure I get a good sense of what the town itself was like during that time period and I'm struggling to figure out where to start.

I'll obviously have to interview people to get a sense of what the town was like in that period. But I'm also wanting to get as much raw data as possible; things like building records, census data, any video or written accounts from the time period etc. I don't know what kind of records are open to the public or where exactly to find them. The town hall and the town library would be the obvious starting points, but I'm curious if there are some obvious resources I haven't thought to check yet.