1. geowrite

geowrite New Member

Where to start

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by geowrite, Mar 26, 2013.

OK, so I'm not a writer.
    Phew, so now that that's out can someone please tell me where to start?
    I've always had this urge to write, which is weird because I don't read a lot either,
    but still....I feel I need to give it a go.
    I sometimes get these creative urges like I just HAVE to paint something or create something,
    so now I want to try my hand at writing....but as with my designs (I'm an architect), I've been
    milling over everything...from the genre to the main characters and the title, and after
    three weeks have not got one word on paper...
    Maybe I should rather stick to painting...

Any ideas
    Cheers
    George

2. idle

idle Active Member

If you feel you are not ready to write a story, try some baby steps. You've been thinking about the characters, have you tried to write down anything about them? Just notes, facts, little details, their role in the story, whatever you think might be useful. Write it down, instead of just thinking about them. You're halfway there.

Now what about a scene? Either from the story, or something that illustrates one of the characters' traits. Not ready to get them on the stage and start talking? Maybe prepare the scene with some description, don't overdo it, just a few details to get the general idea, and now he or she is ready to open the door and enter.

3. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor