1. Nicholas C.

Nicholas C. Active Member

Back cover blurbs

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Nicholas C., Dec 21, 2011.

I came across an article that suggested the idea of writing a back cover style "blurb" for the story you are writing before you've actually written it. The idea, obviously, is to get an overall snapshot of your story (as well as practice for writing a synopsis when you are querying). I'm not a big outline guy in terms of pre-writing, so I think it helps in the sense of getting a framework that you can refer back to.

This is my first attempt for the current story I am writing. Any thoughts/suggestions?...

Ryan Whitley is a walking contradiction – austere yet rough around the edges, and an incredibly gifted high school failure. Unable to cope, Ryan's mother ships her listless son to his uncle down south, where an insight into Ryan’s family history awakens a talent he never knew he had.

Discovering what he feels is his true path, Ryan moves out West to make a new life for himself. But his hidden talents do not go unnoticed… as one very dangerous man has been searching for someone like Ryan – and the secret he holds – for nearly a lifetime.

2. Jethelin

Jethelin Member

It works. If I read it I would most likely open the book and read a bit more. You have my attention. I also found "and an incredibly gifted high school failure." amusing :)

3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

The blurb seems to change point of view - first we're looking at Ryan from an outsider's point of view, then we're his mother, then we're Ryan, then we're the dangerous man. I'm not saying that this is actually a writing error, but I am saying that switching point of view so many times is likely to dilute the reader's interest.

An example of rewriting these facts to be from Ryan's point of view: