1. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member

Bad Writers Anonymous

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by superpsycho, Mar 5, 2012.

[Tongue in cheek]
    My name is superpsycho and I’m a bad writer.

When I read a paragraph I just wrote and find five “and” in one sentence I can draw no other conclusion than I am a bad writer. :(

When I often find I’ve used “then” in a comparison context, I know I most be a bad writer. :(

Having a ten mile an hour brain and eight mile an hour hands, so I skip ever fifth word, would seem to forever relegate me to being a bad writer. :(

When I’ve written what I think is a heart breaking and emotional scene that had me in tears half way though only to have my wife, upon reading it, simply point out dryly an unneeded comma, I have no doubt I am a bad writer. :(

[/tongue in cheek]

Sometimes the measure of a writer is not the accolades of their success but the obstacles they’ve overcome to succeed.

2. BlankLink

BlankLink Member

I have deleted and reentered the first few words of my first sentence, so I, too, am a bad writer.

When you create something that is repetitive in a poignant way; that is how I know you are not.

Today you composed something that caught at least one persons interest; I thought you might want to know about it. Your style is interesting, unique, and smooth, because of this, I look forward to reading more.

The major obsticale in my way is that I have lost touch with my creative side: this is what brings me here. I cannot compose prose potent enough to peel eyes open like I'd like to, either. I deny my creative mind the time it takes to build this skill. I will put an end to that.

Thanks for the motivating words. Sometimes these things are so obvious they're hard to see.

1 person likes this.
  3. Samo

Samo New Member

It is perfectly acceptable to use 'and' five times in a sentence just as it is possible to write "and" five times in a row and be grammatically correct ~