1. mixmasterdurham

mixmasterdurham New Member

Italian surname for a character

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by mixmasterdurham, Jan 29, 2012.

Hi all!

This is my first time here. I am beginning work on my first novel, and I am not sure how to find a surname that fits my Italian character best. He is a cook (funny, huh?), and his first name is Giuseppe. I want his family to be from the city of Modena. I am not very particular about the origins of the name, but I would like the name to fit based on where he is from and so on. So really, I could just use a few suggestions, and likely pick a name you give me. Then add to your rep.:cool:

Thanks,

Mixmaster

2. Superevil225

Superevil225 Member

Dinelli is a surname from a family in Modena. I know a family friend with origins there. :)
    For more surnames you can look here: http://www.gentedimaregenealogy.com/data.html

3. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

Galletti is from around Modena and it sounds a bit like gelati (Italian ice cream)

4. mixmasterdurham

Congratulations, jazzabel! Galletti it is. It was a hard decision, considering they both flow well. But I like the ice cream thing and the fact that yours spells best on google.

Thank you both.

5. mixmasterdurham

By the way: this might sound like a stupid question, but would a British woman who marries an Italian take his surname?

6. VM80

VM80 Contributor Contributor

Depends on the woman. ;) Still the majority do seem to take the husband's surname, generally speaking.

I would not give up mine.

Think more about what kind of woman she is: professional, career-minded? Independent? Feminist? These women could likely decide to keep their own surname, or perhaps take on a double-barrelled name. Some I know kept their maiden name for work purposes (if they've made a name for themselves in some field i.e. academia), and otherwise use their husband's.

7. mixmasterdurham

Hey thanks VM80! At least I know for sure.