1. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon

    why am i getting "server too busy" so much today?

    Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by mammamaia, Sep 22, 2011.

    first time i've seen it...
     
  2. Tesoro
    Offline

    Tesoro Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    A place with no future
    I've seen it several times too.
     
  3. Halcyon
    Offline

    Halcyon Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    England
    I was previously a member of another discussion forum similar to this one which used the same vBulletin software and upgraded to this version. Many people found initial logging-in problems similar to what you're describing, although it did eventually settle down. It also went through a period where the site was almost impossible to navigate using IE, causing a significant boost to Firefox, which handled the software no problem.
     
  4. Reggie
    Offline

    Reggie I Like 'Em hot "N Spicy Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    USA
    I saw that several times, Mia. I saw that message all night last night, and it happens to me in other cases too.

    Back the to the pop-up, I haven't really had a problem with the pop-ups, unless I click them. Do they just automatically pop-up on your browser despite not clicking on them?
     
  5. Steerpike
    Offline

    Steerpike Felis amatus Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11,061
    Likes Received:
    5,265
    Location:
    California, US
    Been getting a bunch of the "server too busy" error messages as well.
     
  6. the1
    Offline

    the1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The new software places a greater load on the forum servers. Simple tasks which the old code was able to handle without strain, now provide for more stress as more functions need to be completed.

    This message should only really be experienced during times of high load and may well subside in the future. However, if it continues a hardware upgrade may be on the cards to better handle the demand of the new software.
     
  7. Manav
    Offline

    Manav Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Imphal, India
    I have seen it yesterday for the first time... and I wasn't able to sign in and got 'password error message' the whole evening (india time)

    Havne't seen any pop-ups. May be because pop-ups are desabled in my laptop.
     
  8. Reggie
    Offline

    Reggie I Like 'Em hot "N Spicy Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    USA
    It just happened to a new website, except it is a different message, but it's basically the same problem with this website. I think it's the new software update and not just the computer. It does get annoying at times though. The "The server is too busy" message is very rare on the other to the message on the other newly updated forum website I was on. Thus, the same problem here can get fixed.
     
  9. Flowerfairy
    Offline

    Flowerfairy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Fairyland
    Yeah, I have been getting the same message for a few weeks now.
     
  10. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    It was doing it a great deal yesteday around 5-7 PM EDT. No sign that Daniel was doing any modifications to the site at the time, so it sounds like something on the server needs tuning. Either that, ot the site was being subjected to a DoS attack.
     
  11. Fullmetal Xeno
    Offline

    Fullmetal Xeno Protector of Literature Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Kingdom of Austniad
    It's a problem Daniel has to address. Don't worry, he'll fix it when he gets the chance.
     
  12. Reggie
    Offline

    Reggie I Like 'Em hot "N Spicy Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    USA
    It's doing it now. [​IMG]
     
  13. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    i'm still getting that way beyond annoying 'slipping' thing when typing long posts, too!... the text slips upwards, away from my cursor, so i can't see where i was typing and i have to use the directional arrows to get back to the end of it and keep typing... happens in both the quick reply and the advanced...

    has anyone else experienced this?
     
  14. Trilby
    Offline

    Trilby Contributing Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    NE England
    I'm getting 'sever busy' too.


    Also since the the update I cannot fathom out how to check my rep points - therefore I am unable to return the favour should I receive any.
    Anyone able to help?
     
  15. skeloboy_97
    Offline

    skeloboy_97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    It has happened to me only twice, but I do understand your frustration. Sorry, I'm not sure what's up with that though.
     
  16. Quezacotl
    Offline

    Quezacotl Contributing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Happens to me sometimes with firefox. It only takes a little while for it to go away. Fortunately this forum autosaves periodically.

    I lol'd at DoS attack. I checked with Anonymous, we're good.
     
  17. Cogito
    Offline

    Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    35,935
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    A DoS attack (Denial of Service) is no laughing matter. It's a kind of software attack that attempts to saturate a server's resources by exploiting a weakness in the server software.
     
  18. the1
    Offline

    the1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I also very much doubt it's a DoS attack :D
     
  19. Daniel
    Offline

    Daniel I'm sure you've heard the rumors. Founder Staff Contributor

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,571
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Peoria, Illinois
    This was due to a server optimization setting. I've lowered the threshold. You shouldn't get this error unless the server really is to busy.
     
  20. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    what about the text slippage thing, dan'l?... any clue to why i only happens to me on this site [when typing longish post] and nowhere else?
     
  21. Sarah G
    Offline

    Sarah G Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Doncaster, Uk
    I am still getting this as well, mainly on Pm though.
     
  22. mammamaia
    Offline

    mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    19,316
    Likes Received:
    1,014
    Location:
    Coquille, Oregon
    well, at least i'm not the only one!... i don't do pm's, so only have it happen when i type more than a couple of lines in a post reply... wonder what causes it and if it can be fixed...

    is there any hope, daniel?
     

Share This Page