1. nippy818

nippy818 Senior Member

Day job

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by nippy818, Jun 23, 2014.

So what is everyone's day job. does it effect your writing style or influence you.
    I'm a mechanic. The way that cars work have always intrigued me. its one of the few art forms that anyone can do well in. the long hours make it hard to write but i like to use the things in a car to try and construct stories of who the customer is and the things the car has gone through. keeps the brain awake.

2. Andrae Smith

Andrae Smith Bestselling Author|Editor|Writing Coach Contributor

Ha ha! I'm still working on that. ;) Just applied to work at Pet Smart and JC Penney yesterday. If I get to a printer soon, I'll fill out the application for the local movie theater. (I actually really hope I get a Pet Smart or theater job because I think they will be exciting, different from what I'm used to, and a great way for me to learn and be around things I like: animals and movies). I also heard a nearby Goodwill warehouse has 45 positions open, so I shall see.

On a more long term note. I just finished my second year of college, not too long ago. I plan on continuing soon, and getting into internships for editing or journalism. I'm thinking about a career in editing (perhaps technical, perhaps academic, perhaps fiction, not sure... I'll see what calls me... maybe I'll freelance). After that I plan on teaching high school English and coaching shot put and discus (cuzI luv them enough to put in my plan).

Last edited: Jun 30, 2014
    Thomas Kitchen likes this.
  3. nippy818

nippy818 Senior Member

I had several friends in high school that worked the theaters. all through high school i never once paid for a movie or snacks lol

4. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor