1. 33percent

33percent Active Member

Why are we obsessed with the anti-hero?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by 33percent, Jan 2, 2017.

I've been writing my book for five years, as I continue to finish my first book of wedge between the hero vs anti-hero. I keep asking myself what do I hate about nowadays protagonist that makes the bad guy more appealing. The more I want to understand the antagonist, more my story evolves and feels more connected. I am aiming for the fallen hero approach, but became corrupt for the greater good. I realize myself as watching various of movies and tv shows seems I always root for the bad guy as well.

Bad guys like Lord Voldemort, Darth Vader, Tony Soprano, Joker etc. Nowadays is a hero or protagonist are too boring or not badass enough? Is Deadpool and Wolverine are the new type of good guys we love? Do the bad guys who are not constraint to morals like heros are, giving no f***s attitude liked by audiences more? Do bad guys mirror are darker selves or people we want to be in sense but are not willing?

For example Harry Potter, I'm going to be honest I felt like he was wuss the whole time. Only reason I read the books was what Lord Voldemort was going to do, of course I knew he wasn't going to defeat Harry Potter. Darth Vader is the most ironic bad guy, kills bunch of children in the Jedi Temple then promoted, put on shelves as a kids toy on every shelf that sells Star wars toys. Would like your input why are people obsessed with the bad guy?

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I think there's a definite distinction to be made between an anti-hero and a full-on villain. I don't really follow Harry Potter, but do kids want to BE Voldemort, or do they just enjoy having him send chills up their spine? For Darth Vader, he's intriguing because he's powerful, but he's not any kind of hero, is he? (I admit, I skipped the prequels after the first one...)