1. bionerdwithaporpoise

bionerdwithaporpoise New Member

Is a dream always bad?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by bionerdwithaporpoise, Jan 12, 2017.

I'm a fairly new writer, so forgive my potentially amateurish questions

There's a scene (not sure if that's the proper term) where my MC falls asleep, dreams, and wakes up all in one go.
    It doesn't occur within the first few "chapters" (I haven't divided it yet, as it's not finished) but it'll be in the first 1/3 of the story, I'm sure. It's not prophetic, either.
    So I don't think it falls into the box of cliches or no-nos, but I could very well be wrong. :p

The purpose of it is to weave in some backstory, but in a way that my MC or the reader won't know whether or not it's a true recollection until later on. It makes him seriously question what he's been told his entire life about his birth and young life. It'll have a transformative effect on my MC, which I think works.

Also, it's a 950 word dream. Is this relatively too long? I'm at 70k with my first draft so far and feel I still have a hell of a lot to do, so I predict this will be a brick of a fantasy story. But I can't say for sure...

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

For me, the scene you describe is a big no-no. I find dreams a very lazy way to give information, especially ones that make far more sense than dreams do in real life.

Other readers won't mind dream scenes at all.

Personally, I know enough readers share my views that I would find another way to get my character questioning his life.

making tracks, DueNorth and matwoolf like this.
  3. bionerdwithaporpoise

Yeah, the realness and consistency of it is a worry of mine.