0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No, stick to your legal name

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. sid_sm

sid_sm New Member

Should I use a pseudonym?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by sid_sm, Jan 3, 2014.

I'm a writer from India. I like writing stories based in US. Yes, that's right. Logically, I can't see it happening anywhere else(blame it on Hollywood and american television). My question is whether I should use a pseudonym instead of my real name. The thing is I want to be taken seriously and I'm hoping to find an agent/publisher in US to publish them. Let's admit it, it's likely to raise some prejudices from certain section of readers. They might think how a non-american is able to write stories set in america. I've heard that readers don't read certain genres of books if they are written by the wrong sex, e.g, men writing romances, women writing techno thrillers etc. I'm afraid that might extend to the ethnicity/nationality of the author as well.

1)Would it be okay if use my real name or should I use a pen name?
    2)How accepting are the readers in US when it comes to foreign authors writing tales set in america?
    3)Is is possible for me find a agent/publisher in US for my stories?(remember, i write stories set in US)
    Do answer all the questions, please.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
  2. the1

the1 Active Member

I feel this is something that may be best left up to you. If you feel that using a pseudonym will give you a greater chance of being published then I would be inclined to use a pseudonym.

And of course it is possible for you to find an agent or publisher in the US for your stories granted that they are of quality.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

I can only give you my own experience and I have no idea if it applies widely or narrowly, the name of the author never comes into my decision to read or not read a book.

hvb likes this.
  4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor