Tags:
  1. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Deep POV, 3rd person: POV alternates from 1st to 3rd

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by GingerCoffee, May 28, 2016.

As a writer, I notice when someone is switching POV from 1st to 3rd, and my first reaction is, that's an error. But as a reader, is it really bothersome? Once you ignore the fact it breaks a rule, it's not so intrusive.

This article has a fairly thorough discussion of the convention. I've quoted a couple key points, but by all means if you are interested, read the whole article.
    Deep POV—What’s So Deep About It
    Because I'm not an expert in this, I've only recently learned about it, I'm not posting this here to debate whether it is OK or not OK to use it. I'm only posting this to discuss what it is. Feel free to say you don't like it, or you don't think it's a valid POV. I'm rather neutral but it looks like more than a few people do recognize it as a legit convention.

How to write DEEP POV

Deep POV (Point of View)

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

You're still missing it. I've read and agree with the bits you quoted in your post, but don't agree with the conclusion you're trying to draw from those quotes.

Deep third is written in, you guessed it, third. So the pronouns will be the third person pronouns.

Deep third is NOT jumping between first and third whenever you feel like it. You show the POV character's thoughts and feelings without filters, yes. That's the DEEP part. But being deep third doesn't mean you suddenly switch to "I".

As your quoted part mentions, if you start using the pronoun "I" in the thoughts, you should set it off somehow to show that it's not just a POV glitch.

Maybe it would be helpful for you to think of two separate aspects of POV. One of them is the person - first, second, third. All this really determines is the pronouns. You can be deep or shallow in any of the persons.