1. creative nonfiction

creative nonfiction New Member

Would you call me a Biography writer?

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by creative nonfiction, Jan 12, 2013.

I am a writer for a couple of local newspapers, I write heartwarming true animal stories, for example "Abused Dog Becomes a Hospice Hero" I am now writing a narrative nonfiction book about two heroic women who devoted their lives to a bunch of feral dogs that ended up adoptable due to their dedication. Would that be called a Biography? I write other peoples animal stories.
    THANKS, J

2. SilverWolf0101

SilverWolf0101 Active Member

When I hear the word biography, I think about a story written about a person's life. If you are writing the story about their life dedicated to these feral dogs, then maybe it could be considered a biography. I honestly can't be sure since I don't specialize in biographies for writing.

3. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

No, it sounds like it would be considered narrative nonfiction. Biography usually traces one person's life (although sometimes it could trace two if their lives are very closely intertwined, such as siblings or spouses). It sounds like you're centering the story on the caring of these dogs, which, although it is spread out over a period of time, isn't really a biography, even though there may be biographical elements to it.

4. sylvertech

sylvertech Active Member

Yes it would be, but you must also mention more about the rest of their life.

Biographies are supposed to be comprehensive.
    You could pick a few experiences and write about those, of course,
    but just make sure to weave in the past.

5. spartan928

spartan928 Member