1. Alex R. Encomienda

Alex R. Encomienda Contributor Contributor

Writers! What do you do for a living (besides write)?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Alex R. Encomienda, Nov 16, 2016.

I am a physical therapy technician. I went to school and earned my certification for it. I also took writing classes because I planned to get a creative writing certificate but I knew the financial side won't be too good. In the future however!

What about you? And how do you fit time to write/edit/ submit with your work schedule?

Seraph751 likes this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

I was a consulting electrical and software engineer. That drains a lot of time out of your life. Now, thanks to achieving an advanced (sort of) age, I'm retired. Now I have a lot more time each day. Problem is, I don't have as many days left as I used to.

Turns out, you can't win.

Carly Berg, jannert and Seraph751 like this.
  3. Brindy

Brindy Senior Member

I sit and play with spreadsheets all day, it pays the bills. I write at night when everyone else is in bed... or early morning, when it's just me and the kitten.

Malisky and Seraph751 like this.
  4. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

I'm a department head with the National Trust (though I'm currently off work with work stress related depression). I also used to be a self employed wedding photographer though that is currently also on hold

When iIm working I write in the evenings or at weekends, currently I've time to write during the day which also helps as a mental escape from the round of panic attacks, anxiety, and other less than fun stuff

Last edited: Nov 16, 2016
    Seraph751 and Alex R. Encomienda like this.
  5. Seraph751

Seraph751 If I fell down the rabbit hole... Contributor

I am a Realtor! I write at night or when I have a spare moment. :superyesh:

6. bonijean2

bonijean2 Ancient Artists And Storytellers Rock