1. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

Queries/Submissions Writing a Cover Letter for Agents

Discussion in 'Publishing' started by Thomas Kitchen, Jul 20, 2013.

Hi there,

After just under two years of writing, rewriting, and then editing, as well as other projects, I am finally ready to submit my first novel to agents. However, I am totally new at this and have no idea what to do. Of course they ask for a synopsis and usually the first three chapters, but what about the cover letter? Sometimes they ask for you to include information relevant to the novel you have written, and I'm assuming that means experience in a certain area. However, as it is a young adult science-fiction novel, I have no experience in that area, except for the fact that I'm 19 years old! I am not a scientific guy and researched most of the things I needed to include.

If anyone out there is willing to give me advice on what exactly to include, and possibly an example letter, that would be fantastic. Thanks! :)

2. Krishan

Krishan Active Member

Writer's Digest publish a series of "successful cover letter" blog posts. They print actual cover letters (from books that went on to sell) alongside feedback from the agent or publisher who received them. I'm sure you'd find them useful.

More general advice can be found on the Writers' Workshop site - though it's worth noting that their resources are geared a little towards selling editing services.

I wouldn't worry too much about not having "experience". If your work is strong enough an agent or publisher will be able to see past that.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

wrong on the 'of course'... a synopsis is only sent when requested, after interest is shown in your 'query' letter... and you don't send chapters unless the agent's submission guidelines say to...

a 'cover' letter is what goes with the submission of whatever is requested subsequent to your sending them a query...