1. divided_crown

divided_crown Member

Writing an Autobiography (for someone else)

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by divided_crown, Jul 27, 2013.

Note: I might even have gotten the terminology wrong. This *might* be more of a memoir, but please forgive the inaccuracy.

My father is 70 years old, and has so far lived a very interesting life. He is very fond of telling his life's story, and remembers even minor details and weaves them together in quite interesting ways. Now, this a project I have been thinking about for a very long time (from my desire to preserve his story for my children, since I know my life will be quite boring in comparison), and one which I am very determined to start on pretty soon.

The problem: I'm a fiction writer. I've never done 'true' nonfiction, nor have I ever attempted anything remotely biographical (except for fictional biographies.

I am therefore turning to you, dear WF community, for help. Can you recommend any guides/books on writing an autobiography or interviewing someone for the purpose of biography? I'd also appreciate any personal experiences, do's and dont's, and so forth.

2. KaTrian

KaTrian A foolish little beast. Contributor

Isn't autobiography a biography written by the person whose life is depicted in the book? Like, say, A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers?