1. seta

seta New Member

Writing as a Career?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by seta, Jun 25, 2009.

Is anyone here a career writer?

I read an article about a writer in New York who had accumulated enough wealth to retire at a relatively young age (50 or so) through writing, but was "Madoff'd" - and I'm wondering how practical writing is as a career?

I certainly love telling stories and expressing my ideas and I really do enjoy the actual act of writing, once I get into a story I can burn an hour or three just writing.

But is it really practical? I'm an IT professional by trade, and I hate the daily slog. I want to be a writer or entrepreneur or something out of the ordinary.

Are novels the "best" thing to write as a career? I suppose that question really depends on what I am best at writing. I've heard that technical books are EXTREMELY competitive to publish.

I certainly don't want to be the next Stephen King, at least I don't plan to be. I just want to accumulate a couple million dollars and retire. Is writing a feasible path to this? I suppose I could always continue to write on the side while working a day job.

Thanks in advance for any wisdom anyone is willing to share.

2. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

It's not practical at all, even if you can get into TV, because who knows how long the shows you're writing for will be on, and if other shows will want your talents. The last time I heard any numbers, the average writer in Canada earned only 7000 from writing annually, and that includes the rich ones and the ones who recieve a royalty cheque for 25 dollars or so every three months, if that.

That being said, there is no reason not to try. Just be practical about it and have some skills that make you employable.

3. seta

seta New Member