1. Swagger

Swagger New Member

Script Writing for TV - Write an Entire Season or a Single Episode to Pitch?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Swagger, Jun 16, 2011.

Hi all, newbie here, stumbled across these forums the other day and they are a GREAT resource. :cool:

Just wanted to ask a question seeing days upon end of Googling haven't given any conclusive answers.

Regarding scriptwriting for television - is it customary to have an entire season's worth of episodes written before you pitch the idea, or just a single episode sample to be used as a "pilot"? :confused:

Obviously there are a million steps that need to be taken and a huge dose of luck, but just wondering what those in the industry expect to see in order to show interest in your idea.

Thanks in advance :)

2. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

I don't know all the details of how these things work, but having more than just the pilot is definitely a sensible plan: at the very least, have a few episodes, and know exactly what would happen in subsequent episodes so you don't draw a blank on them. If they like your pilot, they'll want to see more.

3. Jonp

Jonp New Member

Well I'm planning the same sort of thing as you. I live in the UK, where a lot of series only have 6 episodes per year, so I have all six planned out, the first one written, and I'm working on the second. Ideally, I would like to have six written. I think showing that much enthusiasm should help more if and when you pitch it. Well, ideally I'd like to have the first one filmed too, to give a better idea, but that's going to be hard to do.

At the very minimum I would say have the pilot, and at least a breakdown of the next few episodes or maybe some story ideas for it.

4. Diablo Robotico

Diablo Robotico New Member