1. essential life

essential life Member

Writing dialogue vs. writing everything else

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by essential life, Jul 27, 2009.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying I'm some kind of master of it, in fact I'm just a beginner. But I find writing dialogue is just a heck of a lot easier than writing just about everything else, including action and description. Am I in the minority, or is this often the case?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I would suspect that your dialogue would need work, then. Good dialogue isn't just parroting conversation. Often what is unsaid is far more important than what is said.

Crafting dialogue is an art form within the art of writing. All the aspects of writing narrative still apply, but good dialogue reveals character in a way that is richer than what you do in narrative alone.

Dialogue serves to show, rather than tell, if it is done well.

But easy? No, I don't think so.

3. Anders Backlund

Anders Backlund Contributing Member

It varies from writer to writer, I think. Everyone has something they are particularly good at.

Me, I find dialogue to be very easy and fun to write - along with characterization in general, it's my strongest trait as a writer. Others find those same things to be bothersome.

4. CharlieVer

CharlieVer New Member Contributor

There was a brief moment when I thought dialogue was easier. Now, not so much.

I have a flashback scene in my prologue, and I've gotten some high compliments for the flow of my dialogue. I've also gotten some criticism of it.

There are these slaves talking, arguing. They're house slaves in 1819, at Monticello, Thomas Jefferson's home in Virginia.

People told me, "They don't sound like slaves."

I said, "They shouldn't. They're Thomas Jefferson's house slaves. They're constantly surrounded by high culture, constantly in conversation with Jefferson."