1. intelli656

intelli656 New Member

Writing exercises please?

Discussion in 'Word games' started by intelli656, Apr 19, 2011.

Hey all, I'm pretty new to the writing for something other than school thing but I want to be a better, more eloquent writer. I'm not writing a novel or anything, and I'm definitely not interested at the moment in serious brainstorming for a substantial fictional work. But I was wondering if there were any daily writing exercises that anyone knew of daily writing exercises that will make me a more fluid writer and help me with my expression, diction, description, etc.

Btw I'm not a bad writer to begin with, but i havent really been instructed in writing other than with essays, and i just want something that i can do daily which will help me.

2. Infinitytruth

Infinitytruth New Member

1. Type in word of the day, and write a couple sentences using that word.
    2. Write a short story then continue to critique it. Do this until you are completely, and totally satisfied with what you have written.
    3. Write your day. Be as detailed as possible. I tried this one and wound up with a whole new story.
    4. Try and desrcibe the emotions you are currently feeling. Be detailed as possible.
    5. Observe what you are observing now and write it. Detailed as posssible.

Have fun with it. It'll definitely show in your writing.

3. popsicledeath

popsicledeath Banned

Find a work you enjoy and that's considered good literature (trust me, there's something out there that qualifies, feel free to ask for recommendations if you're stumped). Then, every day, type out a portion of it. No joke, just like a monk, transcribe it. It's a good exercise to just experience what good sentences and prose feel like.

A good book for writing 'how to' and exercises in The Scene Book. I only recommended it because of the exercises, they're really good and repeatable, and will often lead to stories.