1. jedi

jedi New Member

Writing Groups

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by jedi, Jan 29, 2011.

Hello -
    Are many of you involved in non-online writing groups or clubs? I am new to this venture and thought it might be a good way to dip my toes in the water.

If anyone knows of something local to western mass (amherst mass area) I would appreciate the information.

thanks
    jeff

2. Jonias

Jonias Member

I was, but it wasn't my style. Where I went, you could bring in work to read if you wanted, but it mostly seemed to be word prompts and leaned towards extemporaneous poetry. If you're good at writing off the cuff and like doing that sort of thing, great (I'm best at doing comedy this way, personally), but I'm more of a story writer than a poet personally, and being told to sit down and write without thinking about the characters and plot first isn't really my thing. I like to see the end from the beginning. (Some of the word games we played were fun, though...I liked it when it had a more comedic bent, even though I don't usually write humor).

A circle to share writing sounds fun, though. I've always wanted to join one of those.

3. The Degenerate

The Degenerate Active Member

Ugh, just spent my entire undergraduate education in workshops. I'm not in a rush to join a writer's group any time soon. The workload was exhausting. But I suppose that's because I had other classes to worry about. These forums are a lot more relaxed, but live groups usually expect you to turn something in every week or two, so it's good if you're the kind of person who likes deadlines.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

writing is, by its very nature, a solitary occupation... to plunk oneself down in a group of similarly clueless beginning writers is counterproductive, imo...you won't find any pros there, so it's usually just a matter of the blind leading the blind...