1. johnjames

johnjames New Member

Aboriginal Australians Non-Fiction

Discussion in 'Research' started by johnjames, Oct 6, 2010.

I'm thinking of writing a new book - a non fiction about the modern myths surrounding aboriginals and the settlement of Australia.

See, I have extensive experience with aboriginals. Far, far more than the tourists, politicians and various and multitudinous others who have spread absurd myths about aboriginals.

The title is "Gimme Two Dollah? - What We Did(n't do) to the Aboriginals".

The title is a play on a very common statement by black-armbanders (a political group who believe Australian history is something shameful). BA's often say "what we (White people) did to the aboriginals".
    Oddly, I can never get the details of that "what" from them...

The book critically analyses and debunks the absurd myths that Australia was "invaded", deconstructs the bizarre and unrealistic image of the settlers as being omnipotent conquerors, analyses the true impact settlement had on aboriginals - good and bad - and debunks the foolish myth of the so-called stolen generation.

Going further, I will also deconstruct the "tourist" image of aboriginal culture, and state my experiences with the real modern aboriginals.

Going from there: critically examine the so-called "White aboriginals", the people who have one thirty second of aboriginal heritage yet qualify for government benefits.

To conclude the main body of text, modern issues of anti-White racism and tribal warfare in rural aboriginal communities.

Then, government approaches to solve these issues, and why they don't work.
    My own experiences, and those of professionals.

Finally, statements from full-blooded aboriginal intellectuals on these issues.

The theme of the book is how this constructed image of aboriginals as perpetual victims, which in reality they never really where, is nothing but harmful.