1. Luke Covack

Luke Covack New Member

Writing Long Dialogue

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Luke Covack, Aug 23, 2009.

Hi this is my first time ever on these forums so please bare with me. I have a couple of questions, but I need to explain some stuff first. I am writing a book where a character is taken out of his world and placed in another. He makes friends with one of the other characters who proceeds to be his guide. In doing so this means that basically the whole second chapter would be one of the characters trying to explain his world to the other character. This means that Characters B is doing all the talking while character A does all the listening. This is not only for Character A’s benefit but the readers as well as it exposes them to this new world of which the rest of the story takes place in. So finally my questions are:
    1) How would I write such a long near continues dialogue of just one character?
    2) With out cutting out content is there another/better way of writing this part?

2. tcol4417

tcol4417 Member

I think we had someone ask this question before? Maybe?

I remember the general consensus being that if there's something that needs explaining you're better off demonstrating it through circumstance rather than dialogue.
    The reasoning behind this is that not only is it made more apparent instead of just droning on and on but it's more realistic as well.

Example:
    Someone from another dimension where public urination is allowed appears in our world. They take their right for granted and we have no idea.
    No-one's about to tell an interdimensional traveller "Oh, by the way please don't pee in public" until they see the guy pulling his fly open, at which point it's more like "what the funny monkey are you doing?"

Actions speak much louder than words - even it they're printed =)

EDIT: Actually I think I'll quote Bill Bailey here because it's perfect: He was asked what Britain was like while traveling.