1. Erin Burgess

Erin Burgess New Member

What to choose to write???

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Erin Burgess, May 11, 2012.

Hello, I'm a new writer starting out but I have no idea what to write! :confused:

I have so many different ideas about plotlines, how I want characters to develop and the worlds I want to write about. I'm paralyzed in my writing because I don't know how to choose what to write. :eek: When I have adjusted enough of my ideas to write a story I come up with another idea that I'm enthusiastic about that doesn't fit at all with the story I decided to write. :(

Help! How do I settle down to write a story? I'm getting sick of plotting out these various stories then abandoning them. I feel like I'm wasting my time :mad:

2. Link the Writer

Link the Writer Flipping Out For A Good Story. Contributor

Believe me, I am in the exact same boat as you are in. 100% in the same boat. In fact, I think we may be sharing the same space! I'll take the stern and the rudder, and you man the oars, 'k?

All joking aside, I think you could try to write multiple stories at once, as in, have many, many first drafts going at the same time. If you want to write on one thing, write on that one thing. If you feel like doing another, do that other thing.

3. Langadune

Langadune Member

I'm from the part of Kansas that doesn't look like
    Write. Write. Write. It can be difficult to focus when so many ideas present themselves ... write what you need to but don't wait until all the circumstances are perfect because they never will be. And don't expect your first draft to be perfect. Rare is the writer who is ever fully satisfied with his/her work... and doubtly so before two drafts.

4. Metus

Metus New Member