Tags:
  1. skeloboy_97

skeloboy_97 Senior Member

Writing motivation

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by skeloboy_97, Aug 8, 2011.

Greetings,

Firstly, before I start, I would just love to say, I LOVE writing.
    But, I have spurts of motivation to write. I go through phases of wanting to write, and others where i will hate it.. Any tips for staying constantly motivated to write daily?

BTW, it's not that i dont have inspiration, I have alot of ideas, i just need a tip to stay on game. Also once i start writing im fine, and will usually write 1-3K words in an hour or so(a usual session for me as im a highschool student)

Much appreciated,

2. The_NeverPen

The_NeverPen Member

Don't force it. But if you really need to write daily, make it a habit to write in a journal at breakfast. Jot down non-sense. No judgement, just writing. If story comes to you, write that, but just vomit words indiscriminately onto paper.

By the way, that is also a great way to get through college.

3. spklvr

spklvr Contributing Member Contributor

Well, unlike NeverPen I am pro forcing it. Possibly because I am a person who needs to force myself to do anything. If I could, I would spend half the day online and the rest staring at the wall. But yeah, I force myself to write. In the morning I decide a time to write and how many words I am going to write (you might prefer to just decide to write from then to then, but if I do that, I just sit there and wait for the time to run out, I'm weird like that).

4. cruciFICTION

cruciFICTION Contributing Member Contributor

I have damn-near the exact same problem. I don't write every day, but I create every day.

My prose falls in quality slightly when I haven't written for a while, like now (I haven't written for a few days, and before that, for over a week). Then again, if I get into a pro-writing, daft, inspired mood, my prose quality absolutely skyrockets and my work is amazing.