1. Reynard's Ambition

Reynard's Ambition New Member

Novel Decorating the Novel: beyond simple craft and into art

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Reynard's Ambition, Dec 4, 2014.

Hello there!

Newbie here… Ever since starting to read Harry Potter as an 11-year old boy who was just about to enter high school, I have dreamt of becoming a fiction author. I’ve written quite a bit, but being a perfectionist I have never written something I thought should be published. Hence I started seriously studying the craft.
    I’ve read quite a lot on writing scenes, keeping suspense, assigning roles to characters, dialogue, etc. Stein on Writing, Corbett’s Art of Character, Lajos Egri… Hell, even the Dramatica model – an interesting new look on old concepts, but there mind-warp of a model is too deterministic even for me. After a while, the advice all starts to sound the same and I’m getting a good grip on it.

There’s one area still stumping me: I call it “decorating” or “translating structure and themes into symbols”.
    · How can I write a variety of original, effective metaphors, descriptions and characterizations? Describing the setting sun as “a bright yolk” and a character’s questioning as “being caught in the breakers of a vicious ocean” only works so many times. I can’t keep on using nature and the cosmos as sources all the time for everything.
    · Where do I find inspiration for writing unique, captivating characters who haven’t passed through the pages of countless others as well?
    · How can I discover intruiging, novel settings and conflicts and how can I find a whole new perspective on established themes and conflicts?