1. DischargedKombat

DischargedKombat Member

Writing Originality: When is taking a small idea become more closer to Plagiarism?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by DischargedKombat, Jan 15, 2013.

Sometimes as a writer, I can tell where I have received my talent from. As we all know, writing in general can come from the things you see, the ideas that are created in the real world. But sometimes, If you are constantly reading, ideas from other people's fictional world slip in the mind, and you can lose grasp on your own originality. Some defend the idea that you can take small ideas, so long as you change it into something completely different. (For example: Futuristic robots that look nothing and act nothing like a robot you might have seen from IRobot. Or faking deaths--how many times has this been done? XD) But when do you lose complete originality? (I am pointing out the idea that taking anything loses some fraction of originality in general circumstances)

For example: I read a book about Alex Rider. The gist of it is a fourteen year old boy who constantly gets involved in a British Intelligence Agency called the MI6. He is considered underaged, and usually is forced to do his missions under some kind of blackmail (First book his housekeeper's Visa expired. The MI6 said that they would renew it if he spied on someone) Scorpia, (Sabotage, Corruption, Intelligence, Assassination) an organization, is always after him.

Another example: Call of duty: Modern Warfare. Everyone has played this franchise. We know that it is about World War III, and that involves alot of war tactics.