1. Kommodo

Kommodo New Member

Writing Practice

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Kommodo, Dec 9, 2013.

Hello,

I am very new to the writing world and through my research I found that most people do recommend reading and writing a lot to sharpen your skills. The question is, writing for the sake of practice feels fruitless. It is pretty hard sitting there every day writing a short story and giving it your best, only that you know you will through this story in the trash in the end of the day and tomorrow you will start another one.

I just want to know from more experienced writers, is this how it works?

2. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

Prior to the Internet, that's pretty much the way it worked, unless you had friends or family members who would critique your writing. Now, there are many, many websites (including this one) where you can submit your work and receive feedback.

There is one genre for which there is an insatiable demand, and regular readers are willing, even eager, to critique your stories: erotica. I write a lot of it myself, and have learned a lot from readers.

3. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributing Member Contributor

Well, I don't think you should write with the expectation that your work will go right into the trash. Try to write all of your exercises as best you can. Get feedback on things you write -- either put them up for critique here or on another site, enter some short story contests, see if you can find a local in person writer's group that either does critique or where you can find some other people to critique with.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

and while you practice, it's important to keep comparing what you write to the work of authors who are generally considered to be good writers... and 'good' doesn't mean just being 'popular' enough to turn out bestsellers...

5. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor